CREST Awards

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

CREST Logo2017 CREST (Cupertino Recognizes Extra Steps Taken) Award

Individuals or organizations making major contributions to the quality of life in Cupertino during the 2016 calendar year are eligible to be nominated for a CREST Award. The award, which stands for Cupertino Recognizes Extra Steps Taken, honors outstanding community volunteers. Individuals of all ages will be considered.

The CREST Awards ceremony was held on Wednesday, May 31, 2017 in the Cupertino Community Hall, 10350 Torre Avenue.

CREST Awards 2017 Ceremony

Watch YouTube HD Version of CREST Awards 2017


CREST Awards 2017 Winners

Kay Lohmiller: A Cupertino resident since 1967, Kay has spent her last 50 years in the City exemplifying the spirit of community compassion. She has had a positive impact on the lives of hundreds of children, families, and organizations as president of a local PTA and music booster club; a member of Inner Wheel, an international group devoted to promoting friendship, encouraging the ideals of service, and fostering international understanding; and her work with West Valley Community Services.

Stan Barkey: Although Stan is not one to draw attention to himself, he is known for contributing his time, talent, and skills to the well-being of the Cupertino community. A long-time Cupertino resident, Stan was looking for a volunteer opportunity some years ago and found himself giving his time at West Valley Community Services. Stan has spent the last five years on the Board of Directors and helped lead West Valley Community Services through the process of hiring a new Executive Director in 2015.

Quota International of Cupertino: Quota International of Cupertino may be a relatively small club, but its members have huge hearts and change lives for the better. In the past year, the club hosted a clothing drive to benefit sexual trauma victims; made and distributed Valentines for residents of the Cupertino Healthcare and Wellness Center, a nursing home and rehabilitation facility; and awarded grants and scholarships to numerous non-profits.

Cupertino Host Lions Club: The Cupertino Host Lions Club was founded in 1951, and although they only have about 20 to 30 active members, they continue to promote the Lions Clubs International mission of aiding the blind, handicapped, and needy citizens of the world.

Claudio Bono: One of the first things Claudio did when he moved to Cupertino was to join the Chamber of Commerce. He has since served on the Board of Directors and makes sure to be present at as many meetings and events as possible; not just to be a good representative of the Chamber, but also of the City that he calls home.

Kiwanis Club: The Kiwanis Club of De Anza was established in 1975 and serves the Cupertino and Saratoga communities. This local group continues to fulfill its mission to change lives by supporting youth programs, raising money for scholarships, providing assistance to homeless shelters, supporting reading and literacy programs, and engaging in activities to help the local community.

St. Joseph of Cupertino Parish: For more than 10 years St. Joseph of Cupertino Parish, in cooperation with West Valley Community Services, hosts a Thanksgiving Basket Food distribution that helps feed 200 about families. The parish also stepped up and allowed West Valley Community Services to park its 37-foot RV, which provides mobile food and case management services, so that the RV would not have to be left on the street.

Liang Chao: Liang has lived in Cupertino for 18 years and has a strong vision of what Cupertino and its school districts could be. Before being elected to the Cupertino School District Board of Education, Liang volunteered her time in classrooms and for school activities. In 2016, Liang helped lead groups of residents to work on behalf of Cupertino and its schools.

Hidden Treasures Volunteer Committee: More than 50 volunteers come together each year and put in more than 1,000 hours combined annually to ensure that the Hidden Treasures sale is a success. In its first year, approximately 10 volunteers helped raise about $1,800. Now, the volunteer committee has grown to about 60 volunteers and raises more than $10,000. All proceeds benefit the Cupertino Senior Center’s “Stay Active Fund.”

Monica Tong: Monica, who grew up in Cupertino, decided some time ago to give back to her community. For the past few years, she has volunteered for West Valley Community Services, spending much of her volunteer time as a “gleaner,” picking up food from grocery stores and dropping it off at West Valley Community Services. But her dedication doesn’t stop there. She also steps up to help with some of WVCS’s special programs as well.